T. Cook and son; J. H. de Bussy,
Text on page 60
KONINKLIJKE PAKETVAART MAATSCHAPPIJ.
Bodjong-road, and is called the Htel du Pavillon, where there are good rooms and an excellent table.
There is a third hotel in the town called the "Heerenlogement".
Near the Htel du Pavillon is a triangular grassy plain, on the north of which rises the gigantic Town Hall, built in 1854, in which are the Government offices and the Archives. Close by is the Club, and a little farther up, the Signal Station.
The Railway Station is a good way outside the town to the north-east, near the coast. Between the railway and the sea, we observe that the entire country is taken up by fishing-ponds (tambak), in which sea-fish, especially the delicious, but many-boned "bandeng", are bred.
From the station, a main road, called the Oengaran road, leads along the east part of the town in a southern direction to Djombang, and thence up the hill to Tjandi. Along this road, on which the Chinese camp is situated with its gay and picturesque bustle, runs the steam-tram.
At the west end of the town we find the Arabian and the native campongs, the latter of which are known by their low situation, which during the west monsoon often causes them to be for days underwater, notwithstanding at the west side of the town, the great bandjir-ifl.ood) canal was constructed for the better outlet of the Samarang river.
Outside the town,
THE TOWN BRIDGE AND THE CLUB AT SAMARANG.THE TOWN BRIDGE AND THE CLUB AT SAMARANG.